Web

SNO, the online website for the Torch is where I spend most of my time. As web manager, I am charged with the job of editing classmates stories, communicating with them on changes and eventually publishing their stories. Sometimes the job doesn’t go as planned. For example, earlier in the fall a writer submitted a story to be posted about a service dog in our school. I read the story and made some minimal changes, as I do with every story. The writer did not approve of the changes made so I had to go back and re-do some of the “said” errors. This was a learning experience for me because I realized not everyone is going to adapt to the changes as well as I assumed. Since then, I haven’t had any issues with edits and stories have improved tremendously throughout the year. Editing stories can be stressful at times but after “polishing” up a story, I feel accomplished with the changes I made and the way it sounds. During my final semester in high school, I published many stories, added many photos to stories and made sure links were inserted into certain words. In college, I hope I can continue to edit stories and make my stories fun and easy to read.

Leave a Reply

